Home Church Calendar
Saturday, 13 July 2024
Select Date


St Gregory Nazianzen


St Gregory, 330-379, was a hermit before becoming bishop of Constantinople; known as the 'Theologian' because of his wisdom and skill in defending orthodox doctrine.

Sts Ambrose, Augustine, Jerome, and Pope Gregory I were the original Doctors of the Church and were named in 1298. They are known collectively as the Great Doctors of the Western Church.

The four Great Doctors of the Eastern Church, Sts
John Chrysostom, Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus and Athanasius were recognized in 1568 by Pope St. Pius V.

A Doctor of the Church, (from the Latin docere, to teach), is a saint from whose writings the whole Church is held to have derived great advantage and to whom "eminent learning" and "great sanctity" have been attributed. The honour is always bestowed posthumously.


The Eastern Church: What is it ?

The Eastern Face of the Church